We are writing to invite you to the Behes Online Round 12.0, a national level online team debate tournament to be held on 13th-14th February 2021 via the Zoom app. The top teams from the event will qualify for the Maha Behes - our national finals to be held in June 2021.

A helpful guide to learn more about us is our website - http://behes.org/.

The details of the tournament are as follows: Dates – 13th-14th February 2021 Venue – Zoom App Tournament Fee - INR 900 per team (INR 300 Per debater) Reporting time – 9 am Last date for registration – 10th February, 11:59 pm IST (midnight). Topics - Based on the reading list available at <u>behes.org</u>. Just click on 'Resources'!

NOTE: Registrations will close as soon as we reach 50 teams in each category; registration is accepted on a first-come, first-serve basis. The Behes Team reserves the right to close registrations as, and when, we reach full capacity.

Registration links for the debate are mentioned below. CUBS DIVISION : <u>https://forms.gle/gnWKP8nbYpy1R3FM6</u>

LIONS DIVISION: https://forms.gle/EtnjHEKmPvDdzCN77

You may make the payment using the link: https://tinyurl.com/ycau9w7s

In case of any queries, you may contact us on +91 9717929348 (Adil), or email us at <u>contact@behes.org</u>.

See you at the Behes Online Round 12.0! The Behes Team How to 'Behes' - A Quick Guide 'Behes' conducts and trains for debate in what is a simplified parliamentary format. Two teams with three speakers each face off against each other in each debate to argue a set motion. Points are not awarded merely for extravagant language, what matters is the quantity and quality of your arguments. Every Behes tournament is held in a knockout format with one winning team emerging at the end of a series of challenging debates. The motions are formulated from a suggested reading list that is made available to the students before the tournament. A 'Behes' debate flows in the following manner: 1: The adjudicator flips the coin to decide the proposition and opposition team before announcing the motion. 2: The adjudicator will announce the motion and give 15 minutes to both the teams to prepare their arguments. Participants are allowed to use any kind of device (mobiles, laptops etc.), the internet or reading material in any form during this preparation time. 3: After 15 minutes, the first speaker from the proposition team (for the motion) will come forward and present his/her arguments. S/he can speak for 3-4 minutes. The adjudicator will tap once when 3 minutes are over and twice after 4 minutes. Any arguments presented beyond this time won't be considered, however the speaker can complete his/her sentence after the tap. 4: After a gap of 60 seconds the first speaker from the opposition team will come forward and speak. 5: In this way, speakers from each team will speak alternately with a gap of 1 minute between each speaker. 6: The adjudicator will announce the winner at the end of the debate after all the speakers have spoken, and the scores have been tabulated. Rules: 1. Each speaker can speak only for 4 minutes. 2. Any kind of electronic device cannot be used after the preparation time is over. However use of notebooks is permitted while speaking. 3. A preparation time of 60 seconds will be given after each speaker. 4. The adjudicator is not allowed to give her/his feedback after the debate. 5. The adjudicator's decision is the final decision. Scoring Criteria: Every speaker in every debate is scored separately on three criteriaa. Matter (Content)- What was the actual argument(s) presented by the speaker? Were any actual examples, facts or studies stated? If so, how relevant were they? b. Manner (Presentation)- How good was the speaker's body language and poise? How well did s/he maintain eye contact? Did s/he use their voice and rhetoric well? c. Method (Structure) – Were the speaker's arguments structured in a way that was easy to understand? Was every point elaborated sufficiently? Did the speaker's rebuttals flow naturally? Every tournament is held in a knock-out format with one winner (and one best speaker) emerging at the end of two days. All our adjudicators have been trained in the finer points of this format of debate.

Partner Schools

Army Public School, Kaluchak, Jammu AKCA, RN Extension, Ghaziabad Bal Bharti Public School, GRH Marg, New Delhi Billabong High International School, Kanpur, Billimoria High School, Panchgani Bishop Scott Boys' School, Patna Blue Bells Modern School, Gurgaon Doon International School Riverside Campus, Dehradun Delhi Public School, Kathua, J & K Delhi Public School, Manali Delhi Public School, Kalyanpur, Kanpur Delhi Public School, RN Extension, Ghaziabad Delhi Public School, Guwahati Gajera Global School, Surat Gargi Girls' School, Meerut GEAR Innovative School, Bengaluru Heritage School, Jammu Hayde Heritage Academy, Kotdwara IES Public School, Bhopal Indirapuram Public School, Crossing Republik Indirapuram Public School (Girls), Patna Indirapuram Public School, Indirapuram Indirapuram Public School, Pratap Vihar Indirapuram Institute of Higher Studies, Indirapuram Kaushalya World School, Greater Noida Maharaja Agrasain Public School, Ashok Vihar, New Delhi Meerut Public School for Girls, Meerut Meerut Public School Main Wing, Meerut MG World Vision School, Muzaffarnagar Mount Abu Public School, Rohini, New Delhi Mount Litera Zee School, Lucknow Partner Schools DEBATE FOR ALL! #indiawillbehes Become a hub of debate. Bring Behes to your city! @behesdebate www.behes.org Mount Litera Zee School, Jamshedpur NH Goel World School, Raipur New Heights School, Hardoi Presidium, Gurugram Queen's Valley School, Dwarka, New Delhi Radiant International School, Patna Royal Global School, Guwahati Salwan Public School, Gurgaon Sapphire International School, Noida Sapphire International School, Ranchi Sarvottam International School, Greater Noida School Of Global Education, Patna Shalom Hills International School, Gurugram Shalom Presidency School, Gurugram Shri Ram Centennial School, Patna Sri Venkateshwar International School, Dwarka, New Delhi St. Patrick's Academy, Ernakulam Tashi Namgyal Academy, Gangtok The Heritage School, Vasant Kunj, New Delhi The Indian Heritage School, Agra The Maxfort School, Dwarka, New Delhi The Orbis School, Pune The HDFC School, Pune